Beginner's Guide [Linux]

Game configuration tutorials, addons and macros.

Beginner's Guide [Linux]

by ozzky » Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:55 pm

Since Kill posted a really good Windows Guide, I thought i'll post a Linux guide for those interested in being a bit adventurous or maybe have it running on an old computer.

:!: First of all – as a disclaimer – Im definitely not an expert on Linux, I'm new to it, but I actually got it working this way.

Secondly, Linux is not a very good operating system to switch to if you play a lot of different games. Although more and more games gets available on linux the majority of games are still laggy and full of bugs :!:

Vanilla WoW is the exception, it runs pretty good if you're lucky.
(this of course depends on which distro and computer parts you are using)

In this tutorial i'm using Ubuntu 14.04 with Crossover, It's a simple way to get all the different files and configurations fixed with wine (windows compitability layer).

Since there's a ton of tutorials on how to install and get used to Ubuntu i'll only cover the WoW client installation.

NOTE: A few of the images were too large to have in the forum post, those images are links instead!
Also if Crossover isn't working for you for any reason try to use PlayOnLinux, it's almost the same.

Basics)

Download the game, there's a few different ways but in this tutorial i'm using the .rar download
since it's a lot easier to not have to install it.

Recommended: Download WoW from FTP(courtesy of Vengence WoW)
Alternative: Download WoW from Torrent (courtesy of Vanilla WoW)

Open the terminal and write:

Extract the WoW client to a location that fits your need.

Crossover)

Go to Codeweavers – download and install the program, it's as simple as in windows.
It's a 14 day free trial, but you could of course borrow the real deal from one of many search engines ;)

After that, start it up
Press "Install Windows software"
Search for "World of Warcraft"