Tips for pvp vs mage in a solo situation

Tips for pvp vs mage in a solo situation

by Soulxlock » Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:28 am

Hi guys,

I started playing WSG / AB on the PvE server 2 weeks ago. It's a part that I pretty much neglected in retail classic and I must say I'm enjoying it now. I'm on alliance side and would like to ask for some tips vs mages in a solo situation.

When I'm facing a skilled mage I usually lose. They can use iceblock to get my dots off and even dodge death coil if it's a good mage. I'm usually having my felhunter out. Is it just me sucking in pvp or is mage a bad matchup? Especially on alliance side since it's mostly undeads you're facing and they can break your fear easily with WOTF.

How would you start an encounter with a mage in a solo situation? I'm raid specced with ds/ruin.

Thanks for your help :).
Soulxlock
Senior Sergeant
Senior Sergeant

Re: Tips for pvp vs mage in a solo situation

by mirager512 » Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:12 am

I can give you some advises though i'm not a pro but that are obvious things IMO.
1. First of all you MUST use fellhunter pet to win VS mages.
2. Disable your pet's autocasting and use macros for its abilities in definite situations only
3. Use macro to dispel poly from yourself /script CastSpellByName('Devour Magic', 1)
4. Use spellock to lock mage's primary school of magic (fire or frost). you should use some addon to see what is he casting(like NECB).
5. Apply shadow dots then You can force a mage to interrupt you by using immolate. Then you may cast whatever you want (fear or shadowbolt) without afraid of getting counterspell.
6. Use curse of tongues. Although mages can dispell it you should reapply it, because you have DOTs and he doesn't. Eventually mage will have to cast with Curse of Tongues or spam decurse, but DOTs will still be eating him.
7. Keep distance to avoid being rooted, or get cone of cold, blast wave etc.
That is my opinion you may also supplement me or argue.