Why use downgrades spells as healer?

Share your secret tips about your favorite class here !

Why use downgrades spells as healer?

by munzwurf » Sun Jun 28, 2015 8:38 am

Hi everyone,

I started playing priest and am trying to get behind some of the healing mechanics. One advice I often hear is that as healer you would want to use downgraded spells. I tried to do some analysis to better understand this. Right now, I am level 20 and get these values from my spellbook:

(HpM = Average Heal per Mana)

My thoughts:

- The most manaefficient spells are Lesser Heal (Rank 3) and Heal
- As a result I would use Heal for when I have enough time for a big heal, Lesser Heal (Rank 3) for a mid-sized heal over average duration and Flash Heal for when I need to heal someone quickly
- My understanding is that after you cast a spell it takes ~5s before you regenerate mana, so the most manaefficient strategy would seem: cast a few spells quickly in a row, get everyone topped off and then wait as long as possible to regenerate mana
- And with these numbers, I would not use downgraded spells, since these are mana-inefficient

Am I missing something? Or why might it make sense to use downgraded spells?

Thanks!
munzwurf
Private
Private

Re: Why use downgrades spells as healer?

by Mimma » Sun Jun 28, 2015 9:26 am

One word: Overhealing
Mimma
Legionnaire
Legionnaire

by vathdaar » Sun Jun 28, 2015 9:33 am

you are missing something, when you add up +healiing bonuses, it makes low rank amazingly overpowered and mana efficient, until then they re just "meh".
<GOD>
Lord of the <Local Ungoro Mafia>
Curator <NOPE>
vathdaar
Stone Guard
Stone Guard

by cofko » Sun Jun 28, 2015 10:11 am

Lets say you have a type of tank who thinks of itself so imbah it can "stance dance" putting rend on mobs and using nothing but thunder clap to tank packs, while doing it all as a "fast run"...